Saint John Region

About the Saint John Region

The Saint John Region covers the southwestern part of New Brunswick, sharing a border with the state of Maine, and includes three of New Brunswick’s islands – Grand Manan, Deer Island and Campobello Island.

There are more than 30 communities in the Saint John Region including the Sussex and Charlotte County areas. Saint John is the oldest incorporated city in Canada and currently the second largest city in New Brunswick.  Saint John is a seaport city located on the Bay of Fundy. The port is Canada’s third largest port by tonnage with a cargo base that includes dry and liquid bulk, break bulk, containers, and cruise.

The land on which Horizon Health in the Saint John region provides services extends through the traditional unceded and unsurrendered territory of Wolastoqiyik (Maliseet), Mi’kmaq and Peskotomuhkati (Passamaquoddy) peoples.

Horizon has several community health centres in the area, as well as Horizon’s Charlotte County Hospital, Grand Manan Hospital, Saint John Regional Hospital, St. Joseph’s Hospital, and Sussex Health Centre.

Community health centres in the area are: Campobello Island Health Centre, Deer Island Health Centre, Fundy Health Centre, HOPE Wellness Centre, Charlotte County Collaborative Wellness Centre, Market Place Wellness Centre, Médisanté Saint-Jean, North End Wellness Centre, Saint John Sexual Health Centre, Saint John Uptown Health Centre, and St. Joseph’s Community Health Centre.

Some of our community partners include:

In the Saint John Region, Community Health Needs Assessments were completed for Saint John and Surrounding Area as well as communities within the Saint John, or Zone 2, region.

Learn more about these areas!